The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Count abstentions and maintain speakers list

Youngchair

Hi all,

I am new to chairing our meetings, the youngest member by two decades, and perhaps too enthusiastic. I would appreciate your advice on the following:

a) Counting votes. We suffer from apathy - of 40 members, seven to nine vote regularly. Firstly, I would like to start counting the yay and neah and putting them in the minutes (not with names) and secondly, I would like to call for a active count of abstentions and putting those in the minutes [i worry some people are just not moving their arms.] Is this proper?

B) Before I began to chair, the discussions were chaotic to say the least. I instituted a speakers list, which calmed things down a lot, but there are about 5 people who want to speak 10 times per topic and therefore squeeze out others (ironically, they abstain from voting). Is it proper to have a list where first-time speakers are given priority over second- and third-time speakers? Any ideas?

Thank you!

Hi all,

I am new to chairing our meetings, the youngest member by two decades, and perhaps too enthusiastic. I would appreciate your advice on the following:

a) Counting votes. We suffer from apathy - of 40 members, seven to nine vote regularly. Firstly, I would like to start counting the yay and neah and putting them in the minutes (not with names) and secondly, I would like to call for a active count of abstentions and putting those in the minutes [i worry some people are just not moving their arms.] Is this proper?

cool.gif Before I began to chair, the discussions were chaotic to say the least. I instituted a speakers list, which calmed things down a lot, but there are about 5 people who want to speak 10 times per topic and therefore squeeze out others (ironically, they abstain from voting). Is it proper to have a list where first-time speakers are given priority over second- and third-time speakers? Any ideas?

Thank you!