The Official RONR Q & A Forums

what is motionable?

Guest Debbie

At a recent meeting somone make a motion on an item that I don't believe is motionable. Can someone please explain to me what needs to be made into a motion and what doesn't. Is it just changes to policy etc or is there more to it?

We are a soccer organization and someone made a motion to have someone ratified as a coach, I don't think that is required, I think we can just vote on whether on not this person be accept as a coach or not. I don't believe motions have been made on this issue in the past.

Thanks

Debbie

At a recent meeting somone make a motion on an item that I don't believe is motionable. Can someone please explain to me what needs to be made into a motion and what doesn't. Is it just changes to policy etc or is there more to it?

We are a soccer organization and someone made a motion to have someone ratified as a coach, I don't think that is required, I think we can just vote on whether on not this person be accept as a coach or not. I don't believe motions have been made on this issue in the past.

Thanks

Debbie

Business is ordinarily introduced to the assembly by way of making a main motion. However, sometimes it is proper for a main motion to be assumed--that is, the question is stated by the chair without a formal motion having been made. Take a look at RONR, Off. Interp. 2007-1, www.robertsrules.com.

I don't know if they misused it. Sounds to me as if 1 person wants to ratify the guy as a coach, and the other wants to vote him in as coach. Maybe the nomenclature is slightly off, but I wonder if there's a nickel's worth of difference between what they want as a result. How to get there? Either way it sounds as if business (be it ratifying, voting, blessing, sanctioning, high-fiving or ordaining) is being introduced. Why not a motion?