The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Executive Council Executive Session

Guest Jon Doe

If an organization opts to elect an executive council to tend to matters on the board's behalf during the time when the board is not in session, is it legal, or standard, for the executive council to be able to go into an executive session which excludes board members not on the Executive Council?

Ok, thanks. Yes the bylaws do allow for it. Wasn't sure if board members could be excluded from an EC session, as the board is charged with overseeing the EC and has full veto power over it, but yet the board does not know a lot of what they decide as much of it is done in executive session.

I don't know? I'm new to this. Can minutes be demanded from a meeting done in executive session? An example of one of the issues regarding this, is the EC determines the pay rate and performance of the paid office staff. Now, this is done in executive session, board members not allowed. However, the bylaws state under the heading of responsibilities of the board, " shall establish job descriptions, including remuneration, for any paid staff". Problem is, the board can't even find out what the staff IS paid, individually, only the general cost of staff as printed in the finances.

I was being rhethorical. In my opinion a superior body may require its subordinate body to produce them. At a Board meeting move to have the EC produce their minutes and have them read to the Board. It will require a majority vote if previous notice of the motion is given to the Board, a 2/3 vote without previous notice, or a majority of the entire board regardless of notice.

No need to be in the dark.