The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Privileged motions as ordinary motions

Guest SW

When no question is pending, some of the privileged motions appear to have main motion equivalents which are both debatable and amendable. A motion calling for the orders of the day, and an ordinary motion to adjourn don't seem to have a debatable/amendable form. The motions to recess and to fix the time to which to adjourn are amendable (not debatable) even when made as privileged motions.

Is there a particular reason for your question?

I am studying parliamentary authority in preparing for exam and am having trouble understanding how to handle privileged/subsidary/incidental motions when there is no pending question on the floor. I understand that incidental main motions are incidental motions that are treated as main motions when there is no pending question on the floor. Am I correct? Any help in clarifying this subject will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

... [snip] I understand that incidental main motions are incidental motions that are treated as main motions when there is no pending question on the floor. Am I correct? ....

I wouldn't say so. I think it is more easily understandable if we see that incidental main motions are one kind of main motion; they are main motions, period, even though they obviously do have some resemblances to the subsidiary motions.

Now, an entirely different question is "how to handle privileged/subsidary/incidental motions when there is no pending question on the floor" (although yes, there are resemblances there, too). (But I trust you'll forgive my resting a while before I go into that.)

As it happens, I'm now wondering: If a motion to adjourn is made when no question is pending, and a member believes there is still business that the assembly should deal with at this meeting, is there a way for the member to convey that concern to others, so that they vote down to motion to adjourn; and if there is such a way, what is it?