The Official RONR Q & A Forums

When/how can one change the format of a meeting?

beis19

I'm brand new to the this site, and need help in running a new 12 step meeting that I am the co-chair of. The meeting is literally one week old (in an established 12 step program) and attendees are already requesting a change of format. More specifically, they want to change the length of the meeting from 60 minutes to 90 minutes.

We put a lot of work into getting this meeting going, and sought a lot of counsel to make sure we were keeping with the Traditions of our program, in the desire to serve the greater good. Two of the primary factors in creating a one hour meeting was the limited timed that we co-chairs have to chair it (hence the co-chairing), and the fact that some people travel 3 hours roundtrip to make it.

When, if at all, is it appropriate to put to vote the length of the meeting, or any other changes to format for that matter?

I'm admittedly peeved, but I respect the need to follow the rules.

Thanks,

M

The meeting is literally one week old (in an established 12 step program) and attendees are already requesting a change of format.

Well, if you change "meeting" to "organization" and "attendees" to "members", we might be able to help.

Is there an organization? Do you have members? Bylaws?

Or is this just a casual gathering where anyone who shows up can speak and vote?

Thanks for the clarifying questions.

Yes, ours qualifies as an "organization", we specifically use the term "members" in reference to those who attend, and though there is a nod to our "bylaws" I couldn't tell you what they are. We are clear however that our organization is to be run in accordance with Roberts Rules. Trouble is, we don't know what they are, so I came to get educated.