The Official RONR Q & A Forums

How to Remove a Member Who Has Served Illegitimately for 2+ years

Guest Dusty

I would like advice/instruction (clearly I am a novice) on how to proceed to remove a member who has served for a length of time and has been ineligible to serve until just recently.

This member had employment that specifically made him ineligible to be a board member. Although he is now eligible due to his loss of employment, I find the fact that he served for such a length of time, and in fact as president of the board--who should certainly know better--he should be removed.

Please advise me how to proceed. I expect the vice chair will not be supportive. I also do not believe a request for resignation will be fruitful. At the next board meeting, I would like to move to go into executive session and address this member.

Please instruct.

1. I think you're saying that the person -- let's call him Barney, as an in-joke (you won't get it yet, Dusty, being a novice; but you might get boost by using the search function for this website: try "Wilma" and read the thread) can legitimately serve now; you're ont contesting that; but he should be removed as punishment for having been on the board illegitimately for a while. Is that true?

2. Let's start with reading FAQ #20, at www.robertsrules.com/faq.html#20 ... and RONR, 11th Ed., p. 444 - 445.

3. The easy part is, if he was ineligible to serve at the time he was elected, then the election is invalid: he is not a board member at all, and never was. He does not need to be removed -- rather, the organization needs to recognize that he's not on the board, by raising a point of order. (As he's the president, he will probably rule against the point of order -- so be prepared to appeal the ruling to the membership.)

I would like advice/instruction (clearly I am a novice) on how to proceed to remove a member who has served for a length of time and has been ineligible to serve until just recently.