The Official RONR Q & A Forums

board member not invited to board meeting

Guest Rob

I have a duel relationship with a board of directors.

1. I am an independent contractor (association manager) serving as executive director to an association.

2. In the bylaws, it says the executive director is a full member of the board of directors.

The board met and merged the association/corporation (really disolved it) into another professional association. I was not informed that the discussions were happening and was not informed of the board meeting (time, day, topics...) when the decision was ultimately made.

a. I wonder, under my duel relationship to the association, is this acceptable?

b. Can they say this was an employment issue and therefore I should not be in the room?

c. Is it ok to ever have a board meeting without telling all board members of the meeting?

d. If not, did they have a legitimate meeting?

e. Lastly, should I resign the board while I finish out the 30 day period under our contract?

I honestly do not plan to protest but want to understand the situation.

Thanks,

Rob

a. I wonder, under my duel relationship to the association, is this acceptable?

No. If you are a full member of the Board of Directors, you have a right to be notified of and attend all meetings.

b. Can they say this was an employment issue and therefore I should not be in the room?

Sure, but it doesn't change that, as a member, you have a right to be notified of an attend all meetings.

c. Is it ok to ever have a board meeting without telling all board members of the meeting?

No.

d. If not, did they have a legitimate meeting?

No.

e. Lastly, should I resign the board while I finish out the 30 day period under our contract?

That's up to you.

a. No, but not because of any dual capacity. You are a Board member; you should be notified of all Board meetings.

b. Well, they can say it, but that doesn't change anything. See a.

c. Nope. p. 251