The Official RONR Q & A Forums

phone vote

Guest Mike Dickinson

I am no expert, however if you read the notation on page one of the the 11th edition it is not allowed. You then need to read pages 97,98 and 99 completely. Roberts rules make it clear that to do anything by telephone, teleconference, video conference, audio conference  and other electronic means, VERY specific rules need to be established. Roberts Rules clearly make establishing the rules SO cumbersome that one can determine that Roberts Rules does Not want any type of electronic meeting to be held. Read the Bullets on page 99 any person should be able to understand the difficulty that any group would have a almost impossible task of establishing rules. 

I would also say that No type of mail voting or decision making can be made and NO bylaw can allow it..

I would also say that No type of mail voting or decision making can be made and NO bylaw can allow it..

Well now........ if we look at page 97, line 9, under the heading of "EXTENSION OF PARLIAMENTARY LAW TO ELECTRONIC MEETINGS", the first words of that section are "Except as authorized in the bylaws...."

So, your claim that "NO bylaw can allow it" would seem to be contrary to what RONR states, don't you think?  Yes, there are additional qualifications that RONR places on such meetings to retain the character of a deliberative assembly, and these qualifications (and more) should be taken into consideration when adopting bylaws that allow them.  Simply put, such "mail voting and decision making" can be made, but only if the bylaws allow it.

Well now........ if we look at page 97, line 9, under the heading of "EXTENSION OF PARLIAMENTARY LAW TO ELECTRONIC MEETINGS", the first words of that section are "Except as authorized in the bylaws...."