The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Being an officer as a function of my job...?

Guest librarylady

I work at a small rural library, run by a Library board, & funded by the city. I am on the "Friends of the Library board" (a separate entity from the "Library Board"). Essentially the Friends group raises funds for & supports some activities of the library.

As part of my job description as assistant librarian, I am required to be the Treasurer of the Friends board. Is this not a conflict? Is this even legal? I believe officers are to be elected by the Friends board members, not foisted upon them by the hiring practices of the city & the Library board...?

Not to mention, I am not the best person for the job. I am willing to help out, but I believe it is not in our Friends board's best interest for me to be in that office. Not to mention, I am uncomfortable with what appears to be a serious conflict of interest.

Please bear with me as I am new to RR. Thanks!

16 hours ago, Guest librarylady said:

I work at a small rural library, run by a Library board, & funded by the city. I am on the "Friends of the Library board" (a separate entity from the "Library Board"). Essentially the Friends group raises funds for & supports some activities of the library.

As part of my job description as assistant librarian, I am required to be the Treasurer of the Friends board. Is this not a conflict? Is this even legal? I believe officers are to be elected by the Friends board members, not foisted upon them by the hiring practices of the city & the Library board...?

Not to mention, I am not the best person for the job. I am willing to help out, but I believe it is not in our Friends board's best interest for me to be in that office. Not to mention, I am uncomfortable with what appears to be a serious conflict of interest.

Please bear with me as I am new to RR. Thanks!

To me, this seems to be more of an operational issue than a Parliamentary one.