The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Annual Meeting

Roman.76

I am a member of a student organization that adheres to RRNR.  I have a few questions regarding an annual meeting.  Thanks for any help!

1) When should elections take place?  Our agenda typically looks like this:

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

INVOCATION

1.    ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2.    APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.    REPORTS OF OFFICERS

4.    REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

5.    REPORTS OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

6.    SPECIAL ORDERS

7.    UNFINISHED BUSINESS AND GENERAL ORDERS

7.    NEW BUSINESS

8.    OFFICER’S OPEN FORUM

9.    ANNOUNCEMENTS

ADJOURNMENT

2) What is the quorum required for the meeting?  All middle and high school students have the right to participate.  So, is it a quorum of the number of middle and high school students or is it still a quorum of the Council?

Here are sections from Article V. Meetings of the Constitution and Bylaws for reference:

Section 5.2 - Annual Meetings.  The regular meeting on the second Tuesday in May shall be known as the annual meeting.  The purpose of the meeting shall be to elect officers for the next school year, to receive reports of officers and committees, and for any other business that may arise.  All HCHSA middle school and high school students shall have the right to participate in annual meetings.

Section 5.4 - Quorum.  A majority of the Council’s membership shall constitute a quorum.

12 minutes ago, Roman.76 said:

1) When should elections take place?  Our agenda typically looks like this:

The text that follows this is an order of business, not an agenda. It also deviates from RONR's order of business in minor ways. If you are going to, as the order of business indicates, adopt an agenda, you can place elections where you'd like. Make sure you pay attention, though, to what your bylaws say about when the newly elected officers take office, and set the agenda accordingly. If you are not adopting an agenda, the election is new business.