The Official RONR Q & A Forums

"Administrative" changes to Association Constitution and Bylaws?

Brian McMillan

I am a novice parliamentarian for a national non-profit association. The board has determined that the role of Administrative Officer (AO) is too onerous for one volunteer to perform and, if I am reading the room accurately,  will soon vote to replace the position with two newly created roles, a Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and a Membership Management Officer (MMO), and divide the AO responsibilities between them. The current AO would assume the CFO role and another volunteer would be sought to fill the MMO position. The CFO would take over the AO's position on the board; the MMO would not be added to the board.

My question concerns the process for updating this change in the association's Constitution and Bylaws. In this document, the phrase "Administrative Officer" appears several times; these instances will have to be replaced by one or the other new title as appropriate. There is an Amendments article in the Constitution and Bylaws that calls for an election to amend this document. But is a vote of the membership necessary when the changes proposed are not substantive, but merely "administrative," i.e., a change in title to reflect reassigned responsibilities? 

Edited by Brian McMillan
clarification

13 minutes ago, Brian McMillan said:

I am a novice parliamentarian for a national non-profit association. The board has determined that the role of Administrative Officer (AO) is too onerous for one volunteer to perform and, if I am reading the room accurately,  will soon vote to divide the position's responsibilities between two newly created roles, a Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and a Membership Management Officer (MMO). The current AO would assume the CFO role and another volunteer would be sought to fill the MMO position. The CFO would take over the AO's position on the board; the MMO would not be added to the board.