The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Quorum & Vote Count Question

Guest PastorSearchCommitteeChair

Hello,

I am the chair of the pastor search committee for my church, and we are holding a special business meeting in a few weeks to vote on the calling of a new pastor. I want to make sure, as we prepare for the vote, that we understand the bylaws correctly so that there is not a dispute later that a provision was not followed. A few questions were asked by members of the committee, and because I am not an expert in RONR, I wanted to come to ask those who are. Relevant excerpted provisions are below, then questions.

Article I. Church Membership

Section 3. Rights of Members

1. Every member of the church is entitled to vote at all elections and on all questions submitted to the church in conference, provided the member is present or provision has been made for absentee balloting.

Section 4. Termination of Membership

Membership shall be terminated in the following ways:

1. Death of the member

2. By transfer of letter of recommendation to another Baptist Church

3. Exclusion by action of this church, or

4. Erasure upon request or proof of membership in a church of another denomination.

Article II. Church officers and their Duties

Section 1. The Pastor

A Pastor shall be chosen and called by the church whenever a vacancy occurs. The election shall take place at a meeting called for that purpose of which at least one week's public notice has been given.

A Pastor Selection Committee shall be elected by the church to seek out a suitable pastor, and its recommendation will constitute a nomination. Any church member has the privilege of making other nominations according to the policy established by the church. The committee shall bring to the consideration of the church only one name at a time. Election shall be by ballot, an affirmative vote of 3/4 of the quorum as specified in Article V, Section 5. . .