The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Removal of a volunteered position

Guest Curious2answer

Guest Curious2answer

I am new to Robert's Rules and in my reading of it I could not find a direct answer to the following question.  Can there be a motion to remove someone from a position that is a volunteered position?  Even is said person has not done anything wrong and is solely being attacked for not being liked?  

On 4/13/2024 at 6:17 PM, Guest Curious2answer said:

I am new to Robert's Rules and in my reading of it I could not find a direct answer to the following question.  Can there be a motion to remove someone from a position that is a volunteered position?  Even is said person has not done anything wrong and is solely being attacked for not being liked?  

I think the answer to your first question is "Yes" and the answer to the second question is "Maybe."

Can you please answer the following:

• What is the nature of this position? Is it an officer position? A committee? Something else?
  • How is this position appointed?
  • What, if anything, do the bylaws or other rules say regarding removal of this position?
  • What, if anything, do the bylaws or other rules say regarding the term of office for this position?

Guest Curious2answer

The position is head of a committee and they volunteered to do it along with at least 5 committee members.  Our bylaws do not address this position so there is no set term either.  So that is probably where our problems start on how to handle.  The closest thing we have would be in the section on disciplinary action in our bylaws but that is for removing them from club.  Though it does state the executive board will determine if charges are prejudicial to the club or not and whether we go to hearing or not. I attached that section below;