The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Strike Comments from Meeting Minutes

Guest council@ledyardct.org

Guest council@ledyardct.org

Question: Striking Langue from Meeting Comments

My This question is not regarding striking language from a Motion. It is pertaining to striking language that was  said during comments.

Here is the scenario:

Person One: Made statements that were said by another individual  who was not in attendance at the meeting.

Person Two: Stated that Person One's statements should be struck from the Minutes because the comments were hearsay and because the other person was not present to verify the conversation. 

I have been transcribing minutes for 28 years, and understand the process if minutes need to be corrected. I have not come across this during my tenure, and was hoping you could provide guidance in how this should be handled or recorded in the minutes .

I have attached the actual texts of  comments.  

Minutes Text- Strike Language from Minutes-2024-06-12.docx

As a further caveat to these responses, I should also call attention to 48:3 where we are told that:

"To modify the rules governing what is regularly to be included in the minutes requires adoption of a special rule of order, although a majority vote may direct the inclusion of specific additional information in the minutes of a particular meeting."

Upon reading the minutes text that was posted, I note that it says that Person Two:

"Called Point of Order, noting the Mayor was not present this evening; and although Person One stated they had conversations with the Mayor; that because the Mayor was not present this evening to either confirm or deny, or talk about what conversations transpired between Mayor and Person One, that it was not fair to have those comments in the record."