The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Who can call for a vote?

cheerily999

I am brand-new to Robert's Rules although I've been a member and officer of my club's Board for many years. My question is about who can call for a vote / call for a motion? Per the club's bylaws, the president of the club is also the chair of the Board. Also per the bylaws, we follow Robert's Rules unless otherwise specified in the bylaws. It's been assumed that only the president/chair can call for a vote, such as to approve minutes or to approve a financial matter that is outside of what the treasurer is already authorized to do w/out specific Board approval. Is this true or can any member of the Board call for a vote? (Please excuse my incorrect use of terminology. Again, I'm new to Robert's Rules.)

I am brand-new to Robert's Rules although I've been a member and officer of my club's Board for many years. My question is about who can call for a vote / call for a motion? Per the club's bylaws, the president of the club is also the chair of the Board. Also per the bylaws, we follow Robert's Rules unless otherwise specified in the bylaws. It's been assumed that only the president/chair can call for a vote, such as to approve minutes or to approve a financial matter that is outside of what the treasurer is already authorized to do w/out specific Board approval. Is this true or can any member of the Board call for a vote? (Please excuse my incorrect use of terminology. Again, I'm new to Robert's Rules.)

Alling for vote is much different than making a motion. Any member of the assembly meeting may make a motion.

A member, if the chair refuses under certain circumstances, may put a question to a vote from the floor. As a rule, if the chair is acting appropriately, that is not necessarily.