The Official RONR Q & A Forums

RONR examination clarifications

pebblefire

I'm currently studying for the NAP examination for registration. While I was taking practice questions, I stumbled across a problem and I was wondering if any of you could help me out:

7. the motion which must be voted on first is:

A. an amendment to the motion to recess

B. the previous question

C. to postpone to a certain time

D. to take a recess

answer: B

RONR 10th edition reference: 63, 223

I completely understand why is isn't answer A and answer C. But I feel like the answer is D especially since taking a recess is a privileged motion (which is above the subsidiary motion - the previous question). Additionally, option D isn't phrased like option A, where A is phrased as"the amendment to the motion to recess" so therefore, it is classified as a main motion (since the motion to recess is when no question is pending). Besides, there is an amendment on the recess anyway.

So shouldn't D (the privileged motion to take a recess) supersede B (the subsidiary motion to the previous question)?

I'm currently studying for the NAP examination for registration. While I was taking practice questions, I stumbled across a problem and I was wondering if any of you could help me out:

B. the previous question

D. to take a recess

I completely understand why is isn't answer A and answer C. But I feel like the answer is D especially since taking a recess is a privileged motion (which is above the subsidiary motion - the previous question). Additionally, option D isn't phrased like option A, where A is phrased as"the amendment to the motion to recess" so therefore, it is classified as a main motion (since the motion to recess is when no question is pending). Besides, there is an amendment on the recess anyway.

So shouldn't D (the privileged motion to take a recess) supersede B (the subsidiary motion to the previous question)?