The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Order of Precedence

Guest Stephen_V

Hello everyone,

I am a new student of Robert's Rules of Order and I was hoping someone could answer a question I have.

Robert's Rules sets out an order of precedence of 13 ranking motions. Can anyone tell me how this order was arrived at? Is it based on some notion of practicality obvious common sense, or is it somewhat arbitrary? For example, why is the motion to postpone to a certain time higher than to refer, and why is order of the day lower than raising a question of privilege? 

Thank you for any responses!

7 minutes ago, Guest Stephen_V said:

Can anyone tell me how this order was arrived at? Is it based on some notion of practicality obvious common sense, or is it somewhat arbitrary?

Yes. :-)

7 minutes ago, Guest Stephen_V said:

For example, why is the motion to postpone to a certain time higher than to refer,

Because a motion to refer can be postponed, but a motion to postpone cannot be referred.

8 minutes ago, Guest Stephen_V said:

and why is order of the day lower than raising a question of privilege

Because, aside from a recess or adjournment, an order of the day does not interfere with a question of privilege.

1 hour ago, Shmuel Gerber said:

Because a motion to refer can be postponed, but a motion to postpone cannot be referred.

And of course what I mean is that the motion to refer can be postponed together with the main motion. But it would be absurd to refer to a committee the question on postponing the main motion.

This response of Mr. Gerber is not  clear , at all to me , but I may well be missing  something ,and often am  where   Roberts is concerned .Putting aside completely  the initial response  from  Mr. Gerber ,  " Because   a motion to refer can be ........." , and considering that a motion to refer ,or one of postpone ,can be apparently aimed at , and apply to  the main motion: