The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Publish Vote Count?

Guest Joseph S

First, I apologize if the answer to my question is obvious. I am new to our association, new to RROO, and new to this forum. My association just voted by ballot (on-line Google form) for their board. They (the current president and 2 at-large members of the board published the winners of all the positions but refuse to post the vote counts for each position. Not all positions were contested, but most were. That certainly doesn't feel right to many of us. Nothing in our by-laws speaks to this specifically. Is it in RROO? If so, will someone provide a link to the language for me? Thank you. 

What do you mean when you say the results of the election are published? Published in what way?

RONR is clear that the complete vote totals for every candidate should be included in the tellers report, read again by the chair when announcing the results and included in the minutes.

There is no requirement that the vote totals be published in any other manner. If your minutes are distributed to the members or posted online, then the vote totals should be included in those minutes.  

However, if the election results are published in some other way, such as an announcement in the newspaper, there is no requirement that the vote totals be included.

Edited to add: see pages 417-418 regarding including the complete tellers report in the minutes.

Edited by Richard Brown
Added last paragraph

4 minutes ago, Guest Joseph S said: