The Official RONR Q & A Forums

New Books Coming - Which To Get

Guest JDaly

On September 1, 2020...in about a week, both the "in brief" and full Robert's Rules books will release new editions. I'm not really sure which should be the best one to buy.  I'm an American Legion member and we use Robert's Rules in our meetings. I'm an officer at both the Post and District level and should be in line to take the Commander (chair) of both of those in the next couple of years.  I want to be ready.  My initial instinct was to get the "in brief" first and actually read the whole thing and then get the full version to use a reference book. Is this advisable and/or typical??

I'm also wondering what is cut out of the "in brief" version. I'm hoping to read up on recommendations for electronic, virtual meetings, for example. 

Thanks for your assistance!

46 minutes ago, Guest JDaly said:

My initial instinct was to get the "in brief" first and actually read the whole thing and then get the full version to use a reference book. Is this advisable and/or typical?

It is quite typical to read the In Brief edition and use the full version mostly as a reference. Although it's good to start by reading through the whole In Brief book, you can buy both at the same time -- and you may be ready to dig into the big book a lot sooner than you think.

3 hours ago, Guest JDaly said:

My initial instinct was to get the "in brief" first and actually read the whole thing and then get the full version to use a reference book. Is this advisable and/or typical??

Yes, this is highly advisable and typical, although I concur with Mr. Gerber that you may as well buy both at the same time. In Brief is, as the title suggests, a quick read.

3 hours ago, Guest JDaly said:

I'm also wondering what is cut out of the "in brief" version. I'm hoping to read up on recommendations for electronic, virtual meetings, for example.