The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Are executive committee meeting minutes mandatory?

Evelyn Barella

How many people start with "I'm new to this"? I'm on the board at a small nonprofit special needs school.  I just took on the role of secretary. As a member of the executive committee, am I required to take meeting minutes during an executive session and submit them for the record to maintain our nonprofit status? Does every subcommittee need to submit meeting minutes? This was not a meeting of the full board. Why I ask, I'm being pressed to submit minutes for this executive subcommittee meeting by the head of school whose review and pay raise were part of the discussion. 

On 9/29/2022 at 2:02 PM, Evelyn Barella said:

I just took on the role of secretary. As a member of the executive committee, am I required to take meeting minutes during an executive session and submit them for the record to maintain our nonprofit status?

Yes, minutes should be taken of all board and executive committee meetings, whether in open session or in executive session.  However, the minutes of executive sessions should be kept separate from the minutes of open sessions and should be made available only to members of that board (or executive committee).  Whether you are required to do that in order to maintain your nonprofit status is a legal question which is outside the scope of this form.  I'm just telling you that RONR requires it.   For more information on the minutes of executive sessions, see sections 9:26, 47:35, 48:13 and 49:17-19 of RONR  (12th ed.).

On 9/29/2022 at 2:02 PM, Evelyn Barella said:

Does every subcommittee need to submit meeting minutes? This was not a meeting of the full board.