The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Members asked to leave during Motion Discussion

Guest Kathy Delegate

Guest Kathy Delegate

I am currently an Officer for a not-for-profit organization.  I was attending a meeting of the Panel in March; a motion was presented by a voting member and seconded; and I (and other past Officers in that position) were asked to leave the room, as it might be a conflict of interest for us.  None of us had a voice on the topic and I was not allowed to vote on the topic. 

Are there circumstances when members are asked to leave the room during discussion?

When are members voices not heard?

When is a member stripped of their vote?

Where can I find these answers in Robert's Rules?

On 4/9/2024 at 3:13 AM, Kathy D said:

Yes, a voting member.  An Officer.

Paragraph 1:4 of the current (12th) edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised reads as follows (pay particular attention to the sentence which I have bolded):

"A member of an assembly, in the parliamentary sense, as mentioned above, is a person entitled to full participation in its proceedings, that is, as explained in 3 and 4, the right to attend meetings, to make motions, to speak in debate, and to vote. No member can be individually deprived of these basic rights of membership—or of any basic rights concomitant to them, such as the right to make nominations or to give previous notice of a motion—except through disciplinary proceedings. Some organized societies define additional classes of “membership” that do not entail all of these rights. Whenever the term member is used in this book, it refers to full participating membership in the assembly unless otherwise specified. Such members are also described as “voting members” when it is necessary to make a distinction."

This is the rule applicable to your organization's proceedings unless your bylaws, or higher authority such as applicable law, provide otherwise.

On 4/8/2024 at 3:53 PM, Guest Kathy Delegate said: