The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Special Committee or Secret Meeting of the BOD?

ViCA

I have tried to find these answers in RROO but must admit that I am extremely new to the Parliamentary Procedures. I can not find WHO can be appointed to Standing or Special Committee members. Looking for some clarity to the questions below which relate to a situation that may need to be exposed.

When a BOD wants to move forward with a change but needs the recommendation of a Special Committee (aka Task Force) can the BOD appoint BOD Members only as the Special Committee?

Would that Special Committee indeed be considered an Ad Hoc Committee since it has a designated single task to accomplish?

Would the Special Committee being comprised of BOD members only then be considered and/or misconstrued as "Secret Meeting" of the BOD?

Would it then be a conflict for the BOD to seat only BOD members on the Special Committee if the end result is indeed in line with the change that the BOD is wanting to put in place?

If the BOD does indeed establish the committee to bring forth a recommendation would there then be a conflict in regards to neutrality if only BOD members were the committee?

Thank you for any assistance you can provide in this matter.

Answers interspersed:

I have tried to find these answers in RROO but must admit that I am extremely new to the Parliamentary Procedures. I can not find WHO can be appointed to Standing or Special Committee members. Looking for some clarity to the questions below which relate to a situation that may need to be exposed.

When a BOD wants to move forward with a change but needs the recommendation of a Special Committee (aka Task Force) can the BOD appoint BOD Members only as the Special Committee?

Yes

Would that Special Committee indeed be considered an Ad Hoc Committee since it has a designated single task to accomplish?

Yes, Special/Ad Hoc - same thing