The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Treasurer

Guest Annette Erkan

I was designated as the one to file an amendment with the Secretary of State changing the representative and our officers of our Homeowners association.  I am a newly elected officer.  Isn't it the responsibility of the former board to make the changes with the Secretary of State and the Banks where our funds are held?  If the former board is uncooperative (which they are) what can we do to change our status with the Secretary of State and the Banks.  The bank refuses to acknowledge the new board members without the cooperation of the old board or the change of new board members reflected on the Secretary of States website cyberdrive of Illinois. What options do we have in regards to an uncooperative former board?  Thank you in advance for your help.

Ms. Erkan, your question is really a legal question and is outside the scope of this forum.  RONR has no provisions for dealing with banks.  However, I can tell you that your problem is not that unusual.  As a practical matter, some banks are much more difficult to deal with than others when it comes to changing signatories on organization bank accounts.  And some former officers are more cooperative than others.  I have found that small local banks are much easier to deal with in that regard than large banks.

I suggest you get a copy of your bank's standard "corporate resolution" for opening accounts and changing signatories.  When completely and properly filled out with the information requested by the bank, and accompanied by your minutes showing the new officers, that will often take care of it.  Showing that the names of your officers have been changed on the Secretary of State's website also helps.