The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Deleting Previous Notice From Agenda?

Dr. John

Witnessed what I believe was a complete disregard for parliamentary procedure, if not RONR alone.

A local council meeting agenda had two Previous Notices listed on the agenda.  At the adoption of the agenda, a member moved and had seconded a motion to have the Previous Notice deleted from the agenda.  This was passed by the majority (who often vote in unison).

The member who had their Previous Notice deleted was told that any further attempts to reintroduce it would be a "reconsideration" and require 2/3rds.

While I am still studying for RP, I am I wrong in believing this is a complete disregard for parliamentary procedure.  RONR is quite explicit at 1:4 in saying that being able to give Previous Notice is an absolute right.  I would think the only option available to the majority would be to Postpone Indefinitely, once the item actually did come up for discussion.  There is no New Business section, so the Member wouldn't be able to just bring up the motion there.

Seems very undemocratic that the majority can simply remove items before any debate can take place on them.

Am I alone here or ?

9 minutes ago, Dr. John said:

RONR is quite explicit at 1:4 in saying that being able to give Previous Notice is an absolute right. 

I wouldn't worry about this part too much since you state the notice was given. 

So was it the motions for which previous notice was given that were removed from the proposed agenda prior to adopting it?

2 hours ago, Dr. John said:

Witnessed what I believe was a complete disregard for parliamentary procedure, if not RONR alone.

A local council meeting agenda had two Previous Notices listed on the agenda.  At the adoption of the agenda, a member moved and had seconded a motion to have the Previous Notice deleted from the agenda.  This was passed by the majority (who often vote in unison).