The Official RONR Q & A Forums

Newly elected Village Trustee needs help.

LostnIL

Hello,

I am glad to have found this forum. I am a newly elected councilman in a small Illinois town. I am new to politics and parliamentary procedure. I have a question about new business and getting topics on the official agenda. I am having issues getting topics on our agenda. The city administrator continuously tells me to discuss it during "miscellaneous" business, but one of the topics is in reference to transparency and I want it listed as an agenda item that is posted publicly. 

How would a lowly Village Trustee (there is 6 of us) get something on an agenda? I have studied RO,  but I am still unsure how I would introduce new business so that it appears on an agenda?

I am roughly 6 months into my 4 year term. 

Thanks in advance,

8 hours ago, LostnIL said:

How would a lowly Village Trustee (there is 6 of us) get something on an agenda?

Since your town council is probably considered a public body under state law, your procedures are going to be covered, at least to some extent, by state law and by your own local ordinances and rules and by your municipal charter if you have one.

Knowing how these things work, I suspect your council either has written rules of some sort governing this procedure or it is operating pursuant to long established custom.  Have you asked your council chairman, city clerk, or city attorney for a copy of all of the procedural rules governing the way your council conducts business?  It has been my experience that the procedures for getting items on the agenda of a public body are almost always covered by written laws or rules which they are obligated to follow. Those rules will  trump the rules in RONR.